Hello 2017!

Wow! I have not written on my site since 2014! I hope everyone is doing well and enjoyed the holiday season. Sooo many exciting things have happened in the past two years!
Here’s a short summarized version of what I’ve been up to:

1. I graduated from university with honors and got my B.S in Health Sciences! 

graduation

This, of course, was no easy feat! 4 long years of tension headaches, tears, all nighters, and coffee runs finally resulted in the piece of paper that reminds me of the students loans I have to pay back soon (lol). But in all seriousness, this is probably one of my proudest moments and I’m so happy that I was able to share this moment with family and friends.

2. I’ve Traveled … quite a bit.

Being able to go to other places and experience the different languages, the different cultures, different food and different people was the most exhilarating and most humbling experience I’ve had by far. I honestly believe that it is valuable to travel and see the world rather than spending money on material things. You learn so much about others, and most importantly, about yourself during these trips. Seeing the end of both spectrum for each country I visited – from the most elegant restaurant and 5 star hotel, to the struggling street performer asking for donations – it really opened my eyes and helped me realize that in the grand scheme of things, my problems are quite minute and insignificant. It made me feel more grateful for everything that I have. It also inspired me to learn a 3rd language and made it a goal to become tri-lingual someday.

3. …which resulted in more YouTube videos!

I’ve been spending more time learning how to shoot, edit, and export videos. It’s one of the things that I enjoy doing on my spare time. Ever since I was a kid in middle school, I learned how to use Photoshop to the point of memorizing the keyboard shortcuts from how often I used it. Eventually, I got hooked on video editing too and learned how to use different cameras and software. However, I don’t spend as much time as I’d love to doing these things. It definitely changed in 2016 when I uploaded more content about my travels and even created my first makeup tutorial which I was very proud of!
They can all be viewed on my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/wanderlustivy

 

Overall, these past few years have been a whirlwind of excitement, growth, and achievements. I’m definitely going to be more active on this site again as well as on YouTube. We’ll see what 2017 has in store!

Stay humble,

Ivy

Leave a Reply

